Thailand private tours, Bangkok private tours, Chiang Mai private tours, Ayutthaya..., ..., Thai private tour guide,
car rental with free private English speaking tour guide driver, for the details and prices click Terms and Conditions
TheBestThaiTour
 
Ayutthaya
Attractions > Center > Ayutthaya > Out of city attractions  
 

What to see in Ayutthaya

....................................
 

Out of city attractions in Ayutthaya

 
 

Wat Yai Chaimongkhon
or Wat Chao Phraya Thai

This temple constructed in the reign of King U-Thong is located outside the city to the southeast. One can see its large chedi from far away. King  Naresuan the Great had the chedi built to celebrate his elephant-back victory over the Burmese.

Wat Yai Chaimongkhon
Wat Yai Chaimongkhon
Wat Yai Chaimongkhon
Wat Yai Chaimongkhon

 

 

Wat Phananchoeng

This temple located south of Ayutthaya existed before the city was founded. The Wihan's principal image called Phrachao Phananchoeng was built in 1325. Made of stucco in the position of subduing evil, it is most revered by local people.

Wat Phananchoeng

 

Japanese Village

This former district for Japanese expatriates and visitors is located 1.5 km from Wat Phanancheong at Ko Rien.

 

Prasat  Nakhon  Luang

Situated on the east bank of the Pa Sak River, this structure was used as the royal accommodation during trips to the Holy Footprint Shrine and to LopBuri. Assumed to have been constructed under King Songtham, it was improved under King Prasat Thong.

Bang Pa-in Palace

The palace is located I8 km. south of Ayutthaya, 58 km. north of Bangkok by rail and 61 km. by road. The grounds are open daily 8.30 a.m. - 4.00 p.m. For more  information, call 0 2224 327 3 or 0 3526 1044.

Originally, Bang Pa-in was a riverine island. King Prasat Thong ( 1630- 1655) had a palace built on a lake in the middle of the island as a royal retreat, and it was used by every succeeding Ayutthaya monarch. But when the capital moved to Bangkok, the palace was left unused for 80 years.

Bang Pa-in was revived by King Rama IV ( 1851- 1868 ), who had a house built there. His son, King Rama V (1868 -1910), liked the place immensely, stayed there every year and constructed the splendid ensemble as it is seen today. Important buildings are :

Aisawanthipphaya-at Pavilion  An exquisite Thai teak pavilion, was built in the middle of a lake by King Rama V. For reinforcement, King Rama VI had the floor and pillars replaced with concrete.

Aisawanthipphaya-at Pavilion

 

Warophat Phiman Hall   This European-style building was the Throne Hall
Where the king received his subjects and visitors. In this hall are paintings of the royal historic records, I-nao literature, Phra Aphai Mani literature and the Ramayana epic.

 

 

Phra Thinang Uttahayan Phimisathian

Phra Thinang Utthayan Phumisathian   The original two-storey wooden building, resembling a large dacha, was destroyed by fire during restoration. Now, a concrete structure of the same model has been built to replace the original.

 

King Rama  VI Theatre   King Rama IV had this theatre built in his consort's compound

Hemmonthian Thewarat   This Khmer-style stone prang, situated under a banyan tree beside the long stream, replaced an old shrine built by villagers

Saphakhan Ratchaprayun  This two-storey building on the river bank outside the palace wall was constructed by King Rama V as the living quarters for courtiers.

 

Witthunthassana Hall

Witthunthassana Hall    This hall, in the form of a tower, is a three-storey building with a spiral staircase. King Rama V used it to get a bird's eye view of the surrounding area.

 

Keng Buppha Praphat     This Chinese-style pavilion stands within the inner royal compound.

 

Wehat  Chamrun Hall    This hall of a Chinese Emperor-style was a gift to King Rama V from Bangkok's Chinese merchant community.

Wehat Chamrun Hall

 

Monument of Queen Sunantha     This marble monument was built by King Rama V to keep the ashes of his beloved consort.

 

Rachanuson Monument

Rachanuson  Monument      King Rama V, in deep sorrow, had this marble relief memorial built to commemorate his beloved consort and three royal children who passed away at different times in the same year, 1887.

 

 

Wat Niwet Thammaprawat

On a small island in the Chao Phraya River, opposite the Royal Palace, King Rama V had this Buddhist temple built in the European Neo-Gothic style with stained glass windows. From Bang Pa-in Palace, visitors can reach the temple on a hand-cranked cable car.

Wat Niwet Thammaprawat
Wat Niwet Thammaprawat

 

Wat Chumphon Nikayaram

This temple stands opposite me train station. It was founded in 1632 by King Prasat Thong and restored in the mid-19th  century.

 

Bangsai Royal Folk Arts and Crafts Centre

Bang Sai Royal Folk Arts and Crafts Centre

The Centre is located within the extensive grounds of Bang Sai. Farmers from Ayutthaya and other provinces undergo training in folk arts and crafts here. The Centre offers visitors a glimpse of how fanners in Thailand's four regions live and Work, and how their local arts and crafts are produced. The Centre comes under the Promotion of Supplementary Occupations and Related.

 

 
 

 

.................................................................................................................................................................................................

 
Thailand private tours, Bangkok private tours, Chiang Mai private tours, Ayutthaya..., ..., Thai private tour guide,
car rental with free private English speaking tour guide driver, for the details and prices click Terms and Conditions